Email the editor

Padmore and Dolan voted new joint-chairs of ABPCO

ABPCO’s 30th anniversary AGM votes in Rose Padmore and Therese Dolan as new joint-chairs

Pictured: Therese Dolan

The Association of British Professional Conference Organisers (ABPCO) has announced Rose Padmore of Opening Doors & Venues and Therese Dolan of Diabetes UK as its new joint-chairs as it kicked off its 30th anniversary year at its AGM in York.

Padmore and Dolan take over as joint-chairs from Caroline Windsor and Nicole Leida, as joint-chairs represent ing both in-house and agency organisers.  Other new board members following the AGM at The Principal Hotel in York include Sandro Carnicelli of the University of the West of Scotland and Martin Linfield of Hiscox Event Insurance. 

“I am looking forward to becoming joint-chair alongside Therese, and am excited by the challenge ahead,” said Padmore.  “Our focus will remain on providing support to the membership through education and delivery of best practice advice and leadership. 

“However, I also have a personal goal to represent both agency and in-house PCOs, while encouraging and educating newcomers to our industry. The addition of Sandro and Martin to the board with their wealth of experience will be a great bonus to the association during what will be a very exciting anniversary year.”

The AGM, which confirmed outline business plans for 2017, covered an important update on the industry’s Event Management Apprenticeship Scheme, the launch of the ABPCO member’s app, and the commencement of ABPCO’s 30th anniversary celebrations.  In addition, guest speaker John Hotowka shared his insights on how to improve the bottom line.

Dolan added: “On behalf of our members and the board, I want to thank Caroline and Nicole for their hard work and dedication to the association over the last two years.  Under their leadership ABPCO has gone from strength to strength and they have created a road map of success for Rose and I to follow. 

“The AGM has once again been a true success and has provided an important source of education, industry updates, networking opportunities and an overview of the year to come, which I personally, am very much looking forward to as new joint-chair.”

The full board structure is:

•             Rose Padmore, Opening Doors and Venues – joint chair
•             Therese Dolan, Diabetes UK – joint chair
•             Heather Lishman – association director
•             Anthony Hyde – treasurer
•             Caroline Windsor, TFI Group Ltd
•             Nicole Leida, National Cancer Research Institute
•             Sarah Fitzpatrick, Conference Partners Ltd
•             Celia Lloyd, Intelligent Events Ltd
•             Sue Etherington, QEII Centre
•             Clare Beach, Azura Events Ltd
•             Sandra Eyre, ACC Liverpool
•             Noemi La Torre, University of Greenwich
•             Adam Baggs, Soaring Worldwide
•             Sandro Carnicelli, University of the West of Scotland
•             Martin Linfield, Hiscox Event Insurance

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkeIn Share