Email the editor

VisitScotland's Neil Brownlee nominated to PCMA board

Brownlee nominated as director, as international association reveals list of proposed board members for 2018

Pictured: Neil Brownlee, VisitScotland's head of business events, has been nominated as director for the Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA) board

VisitScotland's Neil Brownlee has been nominated as part of the next fleet of board officers and directors for the Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA).

The association has made public its proposed list of leaders for 2018 and beyond, which is led by chair Claire Smith of the Vancouver Convention Centre.

The association is calling for final nominations ahead of the formal election of the proposed board, which will take place following the 62nd PCMA annual meeting at Nashville in January.

Brownlee, head of business events at VisitScotland, has been nominated as director. Other proposed board members are Gregory O'Dell from Events DC (chair-elect), Stuart Ruff-Lyon of Risk and Insurance Management Society (secretary-treasurer) and Mary Pat Heftman of National Restaurant Association (immediate past chair). Brownlee's tenure as director will be for a three-year term, and he has been nominated alongside Carolyn Pund of Cisco Systems, Kathleen Ratcliffe of Explore St. Louis, Megan Tate of Wells Fargo Bank and Christine Trimmer from International Society for Infectious Diseases.

They join current directors Tonya Almond (American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry), Tamela Blalock (American Physical Therapy Association), Kerry Crockett (International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine), Ben Hainsworth (K.I.T. Group GmbH), Leonard Hoops (Visit Indy), Gary Murakami (MGM Resorts International), Weemin Ong (Marina Bay Sands), Janeé Pelletier (MdBio Foundation), Kelly Ricker (CompTIA), Danielle Urbina (American Society of Anesthesiologists) and Carol Wallace (Carol Wallace & Associates Inc.).

PCMA Bylaws allows for additional nominations for any officer or director position by members who submit a petition. Those interested in doing so can email Deborah Sexton at

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkeIn Share