Email the editor

Andy Smith unveiled as new EVCOM chair

Steve Garvey hands over chairmanship for the next 12 months to Andy Smith, creative director at A-Vision

Pictured: EVCOM chair Andy Smith

EVCOM has unveiled its new board for the coming year at its AGM.

Outgoing chair Steve Garvey gave his report on the past year and handed over chairmanship for the next 12 months to Andy Smith, creative director at A-Vision.   

Smith said: “I’d like to express my gratitude to all those board members who are stepping down, who have contributed so much to the successful establishment of EVCOM over the past year and I am delighted to welcome some new blood to the board who I’m sure bring with them fresh insight and different perspectives. I look forward to working with everybody over the coming year.”

Garvey said: “We’ve had a good year and worked hard to create a platform on which we can build an even more effective association. With our new board in place we are positioned to build on our key services and focused on creating greater opportunities to help make our members more successful.”

The new board was revealed at the association’s AGM at ME London Hotel on the Strand. 

Andrew Winterburn, formerly of Ashfield Meetings & Events, was appointed vice chair and will serve as a member of the executive team for a further three years. Rachel Ley of RLC Productions remains on the board after winning the election for one of two agency representative places, while Rachel Pendered of Media Zoo took the other agency position.  

Scott Horsfield was appointed as the new freelance representative, while John Earnshaw, Lee Spencer and Karim ElMinabawy were elected as partner representatives.  

Newly elected board members:
Scott Horsfield
John Earnshaw, Integro ACJ
Lee Spencer, PRG XL Video
Karim ElMinabawy, Emeco Travel
Rachel Ley, RLC Productions 
Rachel Pendered, Media Zoo.

Continuing board members:
Chairman - Andy Smith, A-Vision;
Immediate past chairman - Steve Garvey, Greengage Business Communications; 
Vice chair - Andrew Winterburn
Richard Cook, WMP Creative
Sara Cooper, Plastic Pictures
Steve Garratt, The Giggle Group
Richard Heap, RSM Audit LLP
Cary Rueda, Petrofac
Steve Salam, Future and Co 
Sam Wilson, EcoEvents.

Retired board members:
Brian Kirsch, Hiscox Event Assured
Angela Law, Every Sense
Richard McHardy, The McHardy Collective
Kylie Mather, Travlaw
Dale Parmenter, drp group
Heather Robinson, Heather Robinson Live Communication 
Nick Terry, Top Banana

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkeIn Share