Email the editor

Shortlist for miaList awards announced

The Meetings Industry Association (mia) has announced the shortlist for the 2016 miaList awards

The Meetings Industry Association (mia) has announced the shortlist for the 2016 miaList awards. 

The mia said it received a “huge” number of nominations for this year’s awards, which have existed since 2011 to celebrate individuals from the meetings, hospitality and events industry who go above and beyond the call of duty.

Jane Longhurst, chief executive of the mia, said: “We were extremely pleased with the number and particularly the quality of the nominations received this year. It takes a lot of time and commitment to nominate a colleague for an award so the huge response is testament to the number of talented and inspiring individuals we have working in our industry.” 

The miaList awards, sponsored by The Meeting Show, welcomed nominations for people in a range of categories, including conference and events; food and beverage (production); food and beverage (service); front of house; back of house; sales; marketing; leadership; rising star; and team of the year. 

The short-listed individual nominees are: 

Abhjeet Dasalkar The Arden Hotel (Eden Hotel Collection)
Adam Brown Brockencote Hall Hotel (Eden Hotel Collection)
Amy Wilson Hope Street Hotel
Bethany Thomas The Grand Hotel, Brighton
Denis Hickey Cavendish Venues (Hallam Conference Centre)
Gary Derbyshire Foresight Centre
Glen Corby Wyboston Lakes
Grace Harris Ardencote
Helen Hickmore Eden Hotel Collection (Buckland Tout Saints)
Jade Day Whittlebury Hall
James Bell Warwick Conference Park
Jazzy Sayers Off Limits Corporate Events Ltd
Jenny Waller Park Plaza Victoria London
Jonathan Faithfull Luton Hoo Hotel
Kenji Queva Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Laura Jeffries Twickenham Experience Ltd
Laura Lediard The Belfry Hotel & Resort
Lucy Brackpool Olympia London
Marnie O'Neill Luton Hoo Hotel
Megan McGuinness Jury’s Inn Liverpool
Ranjith Kumar Ceme Conference Centre
Rob Hedges Wyboston Lakes
Rob Morgan Banks Sadler
Sarah Aitken The Events Company
Sarah Birch Newbury Racecourse
Sarah Jones Kettering Park Hotel & Spa
Sophie Ruck Off Limits Corporate Events Ltd
Stephanie Gadd Victory Services Club
Steven Mann QEII Centre
Stewart Elder Fairmont St Andrews
Stuart Drummond QEII Centre
Suzanne Draper Eden Hotel Collection 

The shortlisted teams include: 

Solent Conference Centre
Whittlebury Hall
Destination Bristol
Mallory Court Hotel (Eden Hotel Collection)
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Westminster College
The Grand Hotel Brighton

The judging panel includes: Steve Knight – The Meetings Show (headline sponsor), Rob Flinter – Park Plaza Victoria, Lacy Curtis-Ward – The Lensbury, Gill Smillie – Conference Venues Countrywide, Carol Primett – Anglian Water and Helen Ashton – Langley House Trust. 

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkeIn Share