Email the editor

Smart microphone app wins inaugural event tech award

Crowd Mics turns smartphones into a wireless microphone

Pictured: Julius Solaris (left) congratulates Tim Holladay (centre) with the Crowd Mics team

Crowd Mics, an Arizona-based company behind a mobile app that turns your smartphone into a microphone, has won the inaugural Event Technology of the Year Award.

The award, which gathered 30 submissions, was presented at the Palazzo hotel in Las Vegas. The four other finalists included Catchbox- the world’s first throwable microphone - DoubleDutch, Glisser and Social Tables.

The jury included industry personalities such as David Lutz, MD of Velvet Chainsaw Consulting, Kevin Jackson, VP of Business Development at George P. Johnson. Marja Verbon, from Piton Capital, was also part of the jury, signalling the great interest that venture capital is paying to event technology.

"The award has been a great success and celebrated the most innovative platforms on the market. The event industry is being profoundly changed by the contribution and innovation these companies are bringing along. Media, Event Professionals and Venture Capital are starting to realize that," said Julius Solaris, Editor of EventMB and founder of the award.

He added: "It is one of the most exciting times to be involved in the event industry and the attention the award has received confirms how technology is changing perceptions and experiences."

Tim Holladay, CEO and co­founder of Crowd Mics, said: “What an honour to be named Event Tech of the Year! It was a win for Crowd Mics to share the stage with amazing companies who are leading the industry. We are especially grateful to Julius and Event Manager Blog for getting behind us. We have built a technology to solve a common problem in event and meeting everywhere. Our vision is to give a voice to the audience.”

The award was open to both start-ups and established companies. The judging criteria was around innovation, user adoption, user experience and commitment to the community. The winner receives prizes valued at $15,000.

Facebook Share Twitter Share LinkeIn Share